rain on me.

Do you know who Coconut Records is? If you do, then you and I are going to be great friends. It’s Jason Schwartzman’s band (think Wes Andersen), and he does a song called Summer Day, and I’ve been singing it all day. This I can attribute to the fact that it is rainy rainy rainy right now in Los Angeles and having come from San Diego I get pretty freakin jazzed about rain. I know that getting psyched about blustery and whipping rain is not ordinary, and I’ve dealt with people my whole life telling me I’m crazy for loving rain so much. But I can’t help it, I love it, every part. The water-logged shoes, the foot of wet pant legs, the pink cheeks and frizzy hair, it’s all part of it. Even when you walk twenty minutes to class in the pouring rain and half freeze only to walk into your building to be greeted with Jamaica-in-the-summertime humidity and the heater turned on full blast – that pink cheeked sweatiness is wonderful. One day I’ll probably spend a significant portion of time some place where it rains too much and I’ll maybe tire of it then, but I strive to live in the present, and for now I in love with the rain.

Now listen to that song. It has hardly anything to do with actual rain, but it’s on my rainy day playlist and I think its glorious.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

